Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Keyword Searches
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search
(Combining search terms with AND, OR, NOT is called Boolean searching. There is an explanation here.)
In the Whitman catalog or MLA database, use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings.
- "neoclassical architecture"
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
- (beauty OR aesthetics) AND philosoph*
You can combine two or more of these techniques to define and limit your search further.
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Catalog of books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Arts & Humanities Full Text
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (1955- )
Art, Design, and Architecture
Art, Design and Architecture Collection is a comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Art Index Retrospective
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications. (1929-1984).
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographic resource covering the foremost academic and popular film journals up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text.
A current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. It contains research published since 1940
Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad)
Have you signed up for Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad) so that you can request items, especially articles, from other libraries?
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |