Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo

GER 358: Beauty and Its Subversion: Background Information

Reference Works in Penrose

Oxford Companion to German Literature (ref PT 41.G3 1997)

Encyclopedia of German Literature (ref PT 91.E53 2000)

The Oxford Companion and other encyclopedias give an overview; often, but not always, you will find some secondary literature listed.

A Dictionary of Film Studies (ref PN 1993.45 .K75 2012)

Film Review Annual 1982-2002 (ref PN 1995. F465)

The international film industry: a historical dictionary (ref PN 1993.45 .S57 1989)

Resources on film studies.

Brockhaus Enzyklopädie (ref AE27.0672)

Grimms Wörterbuch (ref PF 3625.G75 1999)

A general encyclopedia in German and THE dictionary – often handy.

Information Literacy in German

German Film Links

Find Online Reference Works

The Dictionary of Literary Biography contains scholarly essays that provide biographical and bibliographical overviews of key authors. Some volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography are available in the Reference section of Penrose (ref PN 451.D5). See the box to the right for a list of these German-related volumes of the DLB.

Dictionary of Literary Biography - German literature

56 German Fiction Writers 1914-45

66 German Fiction Writers 1885-1913

69 Contemporary German Fiction

75 Contemporary German Fiction

81 Austrian Fiction 1875-1913

85 Austrian Fiction after 1914

90 German Writers in the Age of Goethe 1789-1832

94 German Writers in the Age of Goethe: Sturm und Drang to Classicism

97 German Writers from the Enlightenment to Sturm und Drang 1720-1764

118 20th century German Dramatists 1889-1918

124 20th century German Dramatists 1919-1992

129 19th century German Writers 1841-1900

133 19th century German Writers to 1840

138 German Writers and Works of the High Middle Ages: 1170-1280

148 German Writers and Works of the Early Middle Ages: 800-1170

164 German Baroque Writers 1580-1660

168 German Baroque Writers 1661-1730

176 German Writers of Renaissance and Reformation, 1280-1580

 

© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |