Home - Subject Guide - Philosophy - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Philosophy Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of religion and theology journals in all fields of religion.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
PhilPapers: Online research in Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Index and bibliography of philosophy journals, books, open access archives, and academic webpages.
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles & books on philosophy.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Reference source for all topics relating to Islam; only 2nd & 3rd edition online.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics & Philosophy
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Provides substantive discussions by scholars and covers a wide range of topics in philosophy broadly construed.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online - Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Brief, introductory entries from multiple Oxford Philosophy reference sources.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Reference work that includes encyclopedia entries and peer-reviewed articles in philosophy and related disciplines.

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources (monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera) covering 1639-1900.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
18th century English-language publications in the humanities, arts, and sciences.