Home - Subject Guide - Art - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Art Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Art, Design, and Architecture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive survey of publications in the fields of visual and applied arts (coverage from 1976 - current).
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles about art published in scholarly journals, art dissertations, magazines, and art reproductions (1929 to 1984).
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Image database of artwork, architecture, and other artifacts contributed from museums and collections around the world.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.

The Getty
This site provides access to resources of the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Research Institute, and the Getty Conservation Institute.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art reference works, including Grove Art Online, biographies, and encyclopedias.
UXL Graphic Novelists This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of graphic novel authors and illustrators.