Home - Subject Guide - Art History - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Art History Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Art, Design, and Architecture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive survey of publications in the fields of visual and applied arts (coverage from 1976 - current).
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles about art published in scholarly journals, art dissertations, magazines, and art reproductions (1929 to 1984).
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

American Museum of Natural History Research Library Digital Special Collections
Digitized archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations.
Archives of American Art
The world’s pre-eminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Image database of artwork, architecture, and other artifacts contributed from museums and collections around the world.

Europeana
Millions of digitized materials from archives, libraries, and museums across Europe

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.

The Frick Collection
1.2 million photographic reproductions of works of art from the fourth to the mid-twentieth century by artists trained in the Western tradition.
The Getty
This site provides access to resources of the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Research Institute, and the Getty Conservation Institute.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Materials from the Library of Congress, including photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings.
Museum of Modern Art's Exhibit Archive
Programs, images, and information on MoMA exhibits from its founding in 1929 to present.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Database of prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more from the NYPL, including extensive oral histories and materials from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and the New Yorl Public Library for the Performing Arts, preeminent archives in their areas.

ontheboards.tv This link opens in a new window
Films of full-length performances by artists working in dance, theater, music and other fields.

The Wellcome Collection Open Image Database
Thousands of freely licensed digital books, artworks, photos and images of historical library materials and museum objects.

Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Index of European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art reference works, including Grove Art Online, biographies, and encyclopedias.
UXL Graphic Novelists This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of graphic novel authors and illustrators.