Home - Subject Guide - History - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the History Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Find Articles

AfricaBib
Combines 7 periodical indices on; Africana Periodical Literature; African Women's literature; Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa; Islam in Africa; Kenya Coast; Water and Africa; and Education in Africa.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of peer-reviewed articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (publications starting in 1955).
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly publications on all aspects of medieval studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.

MENALIB
An information portal for Middle East, North African, and Islamic Studies. It provides access to electronic fulltext materials or electronic bibliographical records of printed materials and manuscripts.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International academic literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science social science collection.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ranges from local papers like the Walla Walla Union-Bulletin to international papers. Can browse by region, century, or topic.
AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
African news and information (1997- )
New York Times All Access This link opens in a new window
Available to current Whitman staff, students, and faculty. Creating an account provides access to complete archive, games, cooking, the Athletic, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. Full text access to news, business, and legal sources, including federal and state court cases from 1790-present.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text, next-day access to New York Times, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal, as well as many other national and regional newspapers.

History Commons (formerly Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials related to 19th century America.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
More than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995
African Newspapers, 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Papers are in English and other languages.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the Seattle Times (1923-1984), The Oregonian (1923-1987), "African-American Newspapers 1827-1998", and "Hispanic-American Newspapers 1808-1980"
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
Periodicals from prisons across the country, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers from all over the country, predominitely covering 1860-1922 with titles from 1777-1963.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Los Angeles Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1881-1996)
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1851-2016)
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Burney Collection Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
17th and 18th century English news media including pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.
South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times of India (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Walla Walla Union-Bulletin (Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Available from 1945-2020. Also includes other Washington and Oregon historic newspapers. (Note: there are major gaps in 1948, 1963, 1971-1972, 2012, 2014-2015, microfilm is available in the Archives)
Washington Digital Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Titles and coverage varies, primarily late 19th century.
Whitman College Pioneer This link opens in a new window
Digitized copies of the Whitman student paper.

Full Text Historical Magazines

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published from the 1680s to the 1930s (fully keyword searchable).
Economist: Historical Archive, 1843–2020 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. Search "The Economist" in Sherlock to access the most recent issue.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of 19th century British magazines.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-image journal articles of backfiles for periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
Popular Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Titles include Time, Life, Sports Illustrated, US News & World Report, and The Nation.
Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
American magazine articles published between 1890 and 1982 (citations only).
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014 This link opens in a new window
Women's Magazine Archive Collection This link opens in a new window
Full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
More than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995

Find Digital Collections

Aluka (Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from archives and libraries around the world related to the dismantling of the Apartheid regime and Liberation of Southern Africa.
America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources (monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera) covering 1639-1900.
American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera from 1760-1900
British Literary Manuscripts Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimile images of literary manuscripts. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
18th century English-language publications in the humanities, arts, and sciences.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources covering the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the 17th through the 20th centuries. Purchase of this resource was made possible thanks to a gift in memory of John Makey, '56.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Primary sources including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Parker Library on the Web This link opens in a new window
A web-based workspace designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge

Find Reference Works

Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia of the ancient world. It is intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Editorial style and publishing practices as well as complete guidelines on citations and references.
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Reference source for all topics relating to Islam; only 2nd & 3rd edition online.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Provides a comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, and much more.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and downloadable edition of the standard source for facts about American history. Allows customized tables and spreadsheets.
Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Standard biographical dictionary for British people in all fields [limited to one user at a time].
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Covers the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe, includes coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window