Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Keyword Searches
genocide AND memory
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
"retributive justice" OR "transitional justice"
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, reparations, reparative, reparatory, etc. (But be careful if there are words with the same beginning that are unrelated)
"truth and reconciliation"
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
Nuremburg NOT rally
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search. If you're looking for articles on Nuremburg Trials or the Nuremburg Code, information on the Nuremburg rallies will not be helpful. (In this case it would probably also help to use an additional term -- Trials or Code.)
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Find More Articles
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (1955- )
America: History and Life
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada (1955-)
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Social Science Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index®, accessed via Web of Science™ Core Collection, provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings.
Provides a comprehensive synthesis of the research literature for a broad spectrum of disciplines.
Using Library Guides
Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major. General Guides offer information about certain kinds of sources, such as government documents or primary sources.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |