Home - Subject Guide - Sociology - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Sociology Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Educational Research Information Clearinghouse (ERIC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education-related literature, from pre-K through adult education.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and downloadable edition of the standard source for facts about American history. Allows customized tables and spreadsheets.
National Criminal Justice Reference Services (NCJRS) This link opens in a new window
NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International academic literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science social science collection.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database for Sociology and sub-disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
International literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews for many different disciplines in biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.

Encyclopedia of Genocide & Crimes Against Humanity
Explains the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large, including events, perpetrators and heroes, and international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.
Encyclopedia of Population
Provides coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Encompasses the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Covers core sociological issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion and newer topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.

Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project This link opens in a new window
The vital history of Seattle's civil rights movements to life with scores of video oral histories, hundreds of rare photographs, documents, movement histories, and personal biographies.
Women Working This link opens in a new window
Historical, manuscript, and image resources that explore women's roles in the US economy from the Open Collections Program, Harvard University 1870-1930

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Data related to criminal justice in the United States
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Economic data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Caselaw Access Project
CAP includes all official, book-published United States case law — every volume designated as an official report of decisions by a court within the United States. Each volume has been converted into structured, case-level data broken out by majority and dissenting opinion, with human-checked metadata for party names, docket number, citation, and date.
Census Bureau Data
Data on the US population and economy from the US Census. There are interactive tools to help you find data in specific areas.
Data.gov
Datasets from federal agencies. Data relevant for the social sciences may be found under many topics, including Consumer, Education, Finance, Global Development, Business, Cities, Counties, Manufacturing, and Law.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and downloadable edition of the standard source for facts about American history. Allows customized tables and spreadsheets.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. Specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

International Statistics
Links to national statistical agencies of around 200 nations and territories.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
more...less...
You must make an account to download data.