Home - Subject Guide - Anthropology - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Anthropology Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Find Articles

Annual Review of Anthropology
Covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology from 1972 -.

Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles published by the American Anthropological Association
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International academic literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science social science collection.
Web of Science (Science Citation Index) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly literature in the science

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published from the 1680s to the 1930s (fully keyword searchable).
Economist: Historical Archive, 1843–2020 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. Search "The Economist" in Sherlock to access the most recent issue.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of 19th century British magazines.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-image journal articles of backfiles for periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
Popular Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Titles include Time, Life, Sports Illustrated, US News & World Report, and The Nation.
Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
American magazine articles published between 1890 and 1982 (citations only).
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014 This link opens in a new window
Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
Digitized catalogues, pamphlets, trade cards, and other marketing materials originally directed toward the American consumer.
Women's Magazine Archive Collection This link opens in a new window
Full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines.

Internet Archive
In addition to digital text collections, there are also collections of music and video and the Wayback Machine to find archived versions of web pages.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. Log in to access the largest number of volumes and features.

Archival Collections

Whitman College Archives
The Whitman College and Northwest Archives curates materials that document the history of Whitman College and the Walla Walla region as well as rare books and other special collections housed in the Penrose Library.
University of Washington Archives
This site features materials such as photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the University of Washington Libraries (including Special Collections), University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW Libraries.

Find Reference Works

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.

Encyclopedia of Genocide & Crimes Against Humanity
Explains the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large, including events, perpetrators and heroes, and international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.
Encyclopedia of Population
Provides coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Encompasses the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years.

Subject Guide - Anthropology

Instruction Coordinator and Outreach Librarian

Make an Appointment

Welcome

Find Articles

Find Historical Magazines

Archival Collections

Find Reference Works