Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full Text Historical Newspapers
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in a user-friendly online environment.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
More than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995
African Newspapers, 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
More than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the Seattle Times (1923-1984), The Oregonian (1923-1987), "African-American Newspapers 1827-1998", and "Hispanic-American Newspapers 1808-1980"
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A project of the Library of Congress, titles vary, covers the period 1860-1922.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
Los Angeles Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1881-1996)
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1851-2016)
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Burney Collection Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Represents the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.
South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
Full-image online archive of every Sunday issue published by the Times of London from 1822-2016.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Full-image online archive of every page published by the Times of London from 1785-2014.
Times of India (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events from 1838-2010.
Walla Walla Union-Bulletin (Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Available from 1945-2020. Also includes other Washington and Oregon historic newspapers. (Note: there are major gaps in 1948, 1963, 1971-1972, 2012, 2014-2015, microfilm is available in the Archives)
Washington Digital Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Titles and coverage varies, primarily late 19th century.
Whitman College Pioneer This link opens in a new window
The Whitman College Pioneer was a student-run newspaper that covered campus news, sports, arts, special events, and more. The Pioneer was published weekly during the academic year from 1896-2016. In 2016, the name of the paper was changed to the Whitman Wire.
Full Text Current Newspapers
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes full-text, next-day access to New York Times, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
African news and information (1997- )
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Formerly LexisNexis.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |