Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Keyword Searches
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search
(Combining search terms with AND, OR, NOT is called Boolean searching. There is an explanation here.)
In the Whitman catalog or MLA database, use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings.
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
You can combine two or more of these techniques to define and limit your search further.
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock This link opens in a new window
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (1955- )
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new window
FIAF Index to Film Periodicals Plus is a bibliographic resource covering the foremost academic and popular film journals up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Film Index International indexes films from over 170 countries, ranging from silent movies to blockbusters. It provides information on director, cast, and crew, production and release dates, and includes bibliographic information for selected reviews and other articles.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad)
Have you signed up for Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad) so that you can request items, especially articles, from other libraries?
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |