Find Digital Collections - German 352 - Thesis - LibGuides at Whitman College

Digital Collections

Europeana
This digital library includes collections of digitized texts, images, audio recordings, and films from cultural institutions across Europe.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Primary sources including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Collections include Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature; Childrens Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790-1840; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography; Religion, Society, Spirituality and Reform; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Women: Transitional Networks.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
18th century English-language publications in the humanities, arts, and sciences.

Project Gutenberg
Free public domain online books, downloadable in a variety of formats.
Projekt Gutenberg DE
German version of Project Gutenberg -- includes many more texts in German, has a slightly different interface than the North American version.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. Log in to access the largest number of volumes and features.

Internet Archive
Includes digitizations of millions of digitized texts. (Less well-organized than HathiTrust.)

Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Primary sources like maps, photographs, letters, diaries, newspapers, audio of personal accounts of events, sound recordings & historic films.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections from libraries, archives, and museums around the country. Find primary sources in the forms of images, documents, film, sound recording, and other mediums.