Find Newspapers

Find Historical Newspapers and Periodicals

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Relevant titles include The German Correspondent (1820-1821), Deutsch - Americanische Monatshefte für Literatur, Kunst, Wissenschaft und öffentliches Leben (1866), Deutsch - Amerikanische Monatshefte für Politik, Wissenschaft und Literatur (1864-1865).
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
There are 26 newspapers in German available in this digital collection, including Der Deutsche correspondent (Baltimore, 1841-1918) and Tägliches Cincinnatier volksblatt (Cincinnati, 1885-1919).
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1851-2016)

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. Full text access to news, business, and legal sources, including federal and state court cases from 1790-present.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ranges from local papers like the Walla Walla Union-Bulletin to international papers. Can browse by region, century, or topic.

National Newspapers in Germany
This short list of prominent German newspapers includes some information about the publisher and bent (liberal/conservative) of the paper.
Wikipedia's List of German Newspapers
Includes some information about political leanings of major national papers, and links to many regional papers.
List of German Newspapers from W3 newspapers
Links to many German newspapers.
Wikipedia's List of Magazines in Germany

Euro Docs - Historic German Newspapers and Journals online
Links to many digitized collections of German newspapers and journals, 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.
ANNO Historische Zeitungen und Zeitschriften
Digitized newspapers and magazines from Austria's National Library
Zeitschriften Datenbank (ZDB)
Catalog of German language newspapers; has information on publication dates, locations, and whether and where the newspapers are digitized.
ZEFYS - ZEitungsinFormationssYStem der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin
A database of digitized historical newspapers of the Staatsbibliothek, Berlin. Note that many of the digitized newspapers do not have full text search capabilities.
digiPress - Das Zeitungsportal der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek
Digitizations of historical German language newspapers, from the Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek