Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Media Collections
Kanopy is an online video streaming service distributing films from many production houses. It includes the Criterion Collection, and an extensive collection of German films, including many early films, DEFA films from East Germany, and a selection of modern German films.
Films on Demand
A streaming video collection with thousands of educational programs in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. While most are documentaries, there are some complete films from early German cinema (a few of which -- Joyless Street, People on Sunday, Waxworks -- are not in Kanopy).
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching, and learning in the arts and associated fields.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 73,740 CDs with more than 1,061,100 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.
German Film Links
Das Onlineportal für Filmbildung. Includes reviews, interviews, background information about films, and teaching materials.
Wegweiser Film -- Goethe Institut
Includes links to German film archives, festivals, film schools, as well as film magazines and bibliographies of secondary literature on film.
filmportal.de is a free-of-charge internet platform for reliable, in-depth information on German cinema. Its constantly updated services offer a representative overview of the lively film culture in Germany - from its beginnings to the present. More extensive information in German on the site.
Deutsche Kinemathek Museum für Film und Fernsehen
Relatively little of the contents of the Kinemathek are available online, but they do have a page with links to organizations and databases for further research: https://www.deutsche-kinemathek.de/bibliothek/ausgewaehlte-links-zur-recherche
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |