Skip to Main Content
Basic Keyword Searches
Cayuse AND Umatilla
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
indigenous OR native
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, indigenous, indigeneity, etc. But be careful, because this can also include unrelated words like indigent/indegence.
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
Indian NOT India
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search. (Although Indian is not the preferred term to use for Native/First Nations peoples, because it is used as a subject heading you may need to use it in searches; using NOT will help filter out materials about people in or from India.)
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock This link opens in a new window
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Find More Articles
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada (1955-)
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Citation Index®, accessed via Web of Science™ Core Collection, provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings.
Using Library Guides
Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.
In class worksheet
In class worksheet
Make a copy of this worksheet and share it with Amy. This will guide your class work time today.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |