Home - Subject Guide - Environmental Studies - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Environmental Studies Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Covers topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, and helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics & Philosophy
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people.
Encyclopedia of Population
Provides coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Encompasses the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years.

Agricola This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed agriculture, forestry, and animal research (coverage starts in 1970)
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, and urban planning.
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other material covering environmental sciences.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International academic literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Web of Science (Science Citation Index) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly literature in the science

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews for many different disciplines in biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.

Subject Guide - Chemistry
by Julie Carter Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 87 views this year
Subject Guide - Biology
by Julie Carter Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 58 views this year
Subject Guide - Geology
by Julie Carter Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 22 views this year
Subject Guide - Environmental Humanities
by Amy Blau Last Updated Jul 23, 2024 85 views this year