Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock This link opens in a new window
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad)
Have you signed up for Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad) so that you can request items, especially articles, from other libraries?
Find Environmental Studies Articles (Natural Sciences)
Web of Science (Science Citation Index) This link opens in a new window
Search leading scholarly literature in the sciences from 1955- .
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geology and earth sciences U.S. geology 1785– ; international geology 1933–
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Find Environmental Studies Articles (Social Sciences)
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada (1955-)
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (1955- )
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
Find Environmental Humanities Articles
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive synthesis of the research literature for a broad spectrum of disciplines.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |