Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental Humanities Journals
a peer-reviewed, open-access journal featuring interdisciplinary research on the environment
Journal of Ecocriticism
an open-access, peer-reviewed electronic review of ecocriticism and ecoliterature
a peer-reviewed, open-access journal on the connections and relationship between literature, culture and the environment
a peer-reviewed, open-access academic journal on nature in visual culture
Penrose Library also has access to journals such as Environmental History, Environmental Philosophy, Journal for the Studies of Religion, Nature and Culture, and International Studies in Literature and the Environment through library databases. Environmental Ethics is available in print form in the library.
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock This link opens in a new window
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Find Environmental Humanities Articles
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Forest History Society Research Portal
Search books, articles, photographs, dissertations, materials from the U.S. Forest Service history collection, oral histories, and descriptions of archival collections at FHS and elsewhere.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (1955- )
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada (1955-)
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Find Review Articles
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive synthesis of the research literature for a broad spectrum of disciplines.
Find Other Environmental Studies Articles
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Agriculture, forestry, and animal research 1970-
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
offers coverage in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Web of Science (Science Citation Index) This link opens in a new window
Search leading scholarly literature in the sciences from 1955- .
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |