Skip to Main Content
Basic Keyword Searches
chemistry AND history
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
"toxic waste" OR "hazardous waste"
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, chemical, chemistry, chemist, etc. (But be careful if there are words with the same beginning that are unrelated, e.g. chemise)
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
plastic NOT surgery
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search. (If you're looking for articles on plastic in the context of pollution, articles about plastic surgery are not going to be relevant.)
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock This link opens in a new window
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Find More Articles
Web of Science (Science Citation Index) This link opens in a new window
Search leading scholarly literature in the sciences from 1955- .
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (1955- )
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada (1955-)
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive synthesis of the research literature for a broad spectrum of disciplines.
Using Library Guides
Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |