Find Books and Articles

Welcome

Welcome to the Course Guide for GENS175 - Shifting Meanings. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject and course specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
Techniques for searching and source evaluation
citation style guides for your subject
and other helpful resources

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with your course librarian, Bridget.

Library Session Links

Library Session 9/10 (Chopra)	Library Session 10/31 (Chopra)
Slides for Library Session 9/10 GENS175-W Worksheet @ 11am GENS175-E Worksheet @ 12pm	Finding Sources Slides Finding Sources Worksheet

Library Session 10/24 (Bormann)

Sherlock
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.

Find More Articles

Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Arts & Humanities Full Text
Academic and popular titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
JSTOR
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
Project MUSE
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Academic journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
ProQuest One Social Sciences
International academic literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

Reference Works

Credo Reference
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Standard biographical dictionary for British people in all fields [limited to one user at a time].
Oxford Music Online
Includes biographies of composers and performers and coverage of all types of music, from earliest times to the 21st century.

Princeton Encyclopedia of Literary Terms

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Reference work that includes encyclopedia entries and peer-reviewed articles in philosophy and related disciplines.

Further Resources

Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.

Subject Guide - Anthropology
by Emily Pearson Last Updated Aug 4, 2025 66 views this year
Subject Guide - French
by Amy Blau Last Updated Jul 23, 2025 18 views this year
Subject Guide - German Studies
by Amy Blau Last Updated Jul 23, 2025 27 views this year
Subject Guide - Hispanic Studies
by Amy Blau Last Updated Jul 23, 2025 6 views this year
Subject Guide - Indigeneity, Race, and Ethnicity Studies
by Bridget Scoles Last Updated Jul 23, 2025 23 views this year

How to Find Books on the Shelves
by Emily Pearson Last Updated Sep 2, 2025 151 views this year