Home - Subject Guide - Hispanic Studies - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Hispanic Studies Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America in the social sciences and humanities
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Citations for scholarly works on Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States (in English, Spanish, and Portuguese).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Content is available in Spanish, Portuguese and English.

Destinos This link opens in a new window
Telenovela designed to immerse viewers in everyday situations with native speakers and introduces the cultures, accents, and dialects of Mexico, Spain, Argentina, and Puerto Rico.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. Full text access to news, business, and legal sources, including federal and state court cases from 1790-present.
Hispanic-American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Reference source for all topics relating to Islam; only 2nd & 3rd edition online.
UXL Graphic Novelists This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of graphic novel authors and illustrators.