Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Whitman Archival Collections
For the general guide to using Whitman's Archives, click here.
Please note that the archival and manuscript collections listed below are just a few recommended starting points. Consult this partial listing of holdings to get an overview of what is available; scanning this list also helps you develop an idea of where to look next.
Questions? Ask us--we are happy to help!
John J. Arnold Photograph Collection, 1925-1944 (WCMss 68)
The collection consists of images that show street scenes, buildings, harvest, landscapes, Whitman College and rural life. The Whitman Centennial and Pendleton Round-up are included. The 1931 Walla Walla flood is documented and a photograph album, sent to Washington, D.C. to document the need for the Mill Creek Project, is part of the collection.
Baker Family Collection, 1850-1948 (bulk) (WCMss 40)
The specific generational scope of this collection was limited to the figures of Dorsey Syng Baker, his subsequent wives, and his three sons. A small portion contains correspondence and records for Dorsey's parents-in-law, the Tibbetts. Throughout this collection are valuable records, correspondence, legal documents, and diaries relating many aspects of pioneer and early statehood life in the Pacific Northwest, especially for Portland, Oregon, and Walla Walla, Washington. The records include those for transportation, banking and commerce, agriculture, mining, and land acquisition and management, as represented by the efforts of Dorsey and his sons. Thier activities and influence extended to the mid-twentieth century. In addition, there is a small collection of files kept by Baker family members on individual clients or associates. Overall, though the personal letters and diaries provide a few intimate insights, a substantial portion of the Baker Family Collection is a record of family businesses and political and legal interests.
Howard C. Burgess Papers, 1900-1975 (WCMss 393)
The Howard C. Burgess Papers consist of biographical information, geneaological materials, correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippings, honors and awards, scrapbooks, memorabilia from travel and other materials documenting the life of a veteran, author, and leader in civic affairs and an innovator in agricultural techniques.
Durand Well Drilling Records, 1930-1980 (WCMss 60)
Includes geological surveys, information about irrigation districts, correspondence, legal documents, and reports of Walla Walla well-drilling contractors; materials relate to several hundred contracts in the Northwest. Box-level inventory available.
Grand Coulee Dam Collection, 1933-1984 (WCMss 299)
The collection consists of photographs, postcards, brochures, souvenir booklets, and magazine articles that depict the construction of what was then the largest concrete structure in the world. A collection of scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings about the project is also included.
Walla Walla Garden Clubs Records, 1935-2007 (WCMss 306)
The collection consists of records, clippings, and brochures for the Walla Walla Men's Garden Club and the Walla Walla Garden Club. For the Cultus Garden Club and the Evergreen Garden Club, membership information, photographs, and newspaper clippings related to club meetings and social and charitable activities are organized in scrapbooks.
Western Land and Irrigation Company Records, 1908 (WCMss 313)
The collection consists of a bound typewritten report, "The Complete Report upon the Properties, Business and Personnel of the Western Land and Irrigation Co. of Pendleton, Umatilla Co., Oregon" (1908). The report includes information on the company founders, copies of its articles of incorporation, descriptions of its lands, water supply, and water rights, testimonials and other reports on soil quality and agricultural production in Umatilla County, OR.
Find Digital and Media Collections
Western Waters Digital Library
Provides a wide range of significant resources on water in the Western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material.
Environment and Society Portal
The Environment & Society Portal provides digital multimedia and interpretive materials in environmental humanities, including exhibitions, articles, journals, images, and recordings.
Macaulay Library Wildlife Sounds Archive
The world's largest archive of wildlife sounds and videos, from Cornell University's Lab of Ornithology.
Western Soundscape Archive
The Western Soundscape Archive offers thousands of recordings of Western animal species and their environments.
Films on Demand
A streaming video collection that consists of thousands of educational programs in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.
General Digital Collections
Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history providing access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |