Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. Now includes periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A project of the Library of Congress, titles vary, covers the period 1860-1922.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1851-2016)
German digitized periodicals
Find Media and Digital Collections
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching, and learning in the arts and associated fields.
This digital library includes collections of digitized texts, images, audio recordings, and films from cultural institutions across Europe.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, including a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Our subscription includes Archive 1: Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange; Archive 2: British Politics and Society; Archive 3: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Archive 4: Childrens Literature and Childhood.; Archive 5: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Archive 6: Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790-1840; Archive 7: Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Archive 8: Photography; Archive 9: Religion, Society, Spirituality and Reform; Archive 10-11: Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; Archive 12: Women: Transitional Networks.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A streaming video collection that consists of thousands of educational programs in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.
General Digital Collections
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. Log in to access the largest number of volumes and features.
Includes digitizations of millions of digitized texts. (Less well-organized than HathiTrust.)
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
A digital library of primary sources in American social history providing access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |