LibGuides: Primary Sources: Find Newspapers

Full Text Historical Newspapers

History Commons (formerly Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials related to 19th century America.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
More than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995
African Newspapers, 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Papers are in English and other languages.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the Seattle Times (1923-1984), The Oregonian (1923-1987), "African-American Newspapers 1827-1998", and "Hispanic-American Newspapers 1808-1980"
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
Periodicals from prisons across the country, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers from all over the country, predominitely covering 1860-1922 with titles from 1777-1963.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Los Angeles Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1881-1996)
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1851-2016)
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Burney Collection Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
17th and 18th century English news media including pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.
South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times of India (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Walla Walla Union-Bulletin (Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Available from 1945-2020. Also includes other Washington and Oregon historic newspapers. (Note: there are major gaps in 1948, 1963, 1971-1972, 2012, 2014-2015, microfilm is available in the Archives)
Washington Digital Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Titles and coverage varies, primarily late 19th century.
Whitman College Pioneer This link opens in a new window
Digitized copies of the Whitman student paper.

Full Text Current Newspapers

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text, next-day access to New York Times, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal, as well as many other national and regional newspapers.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ranges from local papers like the Walla Walla Union-Bulletin to international papers. Can browse by region, century, or topic.
AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
African news and information (1997- )
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. Full text access to news, business, and legal sources, including federal and state court cases from 1790-present.