Teaching & Outreach
Librarian: Emily Pearson (email@example.com; 509-527-5918)
Emily manages our entire instruction and reference program. Within our instruction team, librarians are assigned to specific divisions as a point person. If you already work with another librarian, you are not required to work with the assigned librarian for your division.
DIV I - Julie Carter, DIV II - Emily Pearson, DIV III - Amy Blau, Interdisciplinary/Non-Academic - Bridget Scoles (Starting in Sept.)
Questions & needs Emily can help with:
- Can I have a librarian do a session with my class? What instruction services does the library offer?
- How can I incorporate research and information literacy goals into my assignments (particularly in FYS but also in general)?
- How can I have my students meet with librarians for research help?
- I have an idea for a program, event, exhibit, or display I’d like to do with the library
- I have an issue with Sherlock, the website, or a database
Librarian: Alexis Hickey (firstname.lastname@example.org; 509-526-4731)
Questions & needs Alexis can help with:
- What types of sessions could the Archives do for my class? How do I arrange for my class to use the archives?
- I have an idea for a collection or collaboration with the Archives
- What is in the Archives’ collections?
- What opportunities are there for students in the Archives?
Librarian: Julie Carter (email@example.com; 509-527-5915)
Questions & needs Julie can help with:
- How do I put materials on reserve for my courses? What can go on reserve?
- How can I access materials that are not held in Penrose Library?
- ILL and Summit related questions
- I need guidance on a copyright question or concern
Librarian: Roger Stelk (firstname.lastname@example.org; 509-527-5909)
Questions & needs Roger can help with:
- How do I suggest a new book, journal, film, or other resource that the library should purchase?
- How do I find out what electronic resources (e-books, online periodicals, streaming video) are available for my research or for classroom use?
- I need help find teaching materials (subscription content, non-restricted license e-books, open access and public domain books, all of which can be shared electronically with a class).
Librarian: Amy Blau (email@example.com; 509-527-4905)
Questions & needs Amy can help with:
- How can I share my research more broadly or increase the impact of my scholarly work?
- What do I need to know about honors theses in the library? How can the library share student research?
- How can I incorporate open education resources into my teaching? How can I create OER?
- What are current requirements from granting agencies for data management plans and public access to products of funded research (publications and supporting data)? What options do I have for providing public/open access to my research? What resources are available to help create a data management plan?
Librarian: Tracy Tolf (firstname.lastname@example.org)
Questions & needs Tracy can help with:
- Help! I am having issues accessing something in a library database!
- Something seems wrong in this Sherlock record…
- Why is this library page displaying like this?