Home - Subject Guide - Chinese - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Chinese Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

American Journal of Chinese Studies
Provides current developments on a wide range of subjects including: socio-political, economic, educational, cultural, linguistic, and other China-related comparative studies.

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
English language publications in all subject areas, especially the humanities and the social sciences, related to East, Southeast, and South Asia.

Hong Kong Journals Online
Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. Titles included in this database cover a wide range of disciplines including law, medicine and education.
The Journal of Asian Studies
The journal publishes the very best empirical and multidisciplinary work on Asia, spanning the arts, history, literature, the social sciences, and cultural studies.
National Social Sciences Database 国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库
Full-text open access database of PRC social science and humanities journals.
PubScholar 公益学术平台
A public academic platform built by the Chinese Academy of Science that contains full-text articles from CAS journals and index, pre-prints mainly on science and technology subjects.

Historical Abstracts
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (publications starting in 1955).
JSTOR
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
ProQuest One Social Sciences
International academic literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

Credo Reference
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
Compilation of Chinese ideograph-based terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources.

The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Chinese Religions
Interdisciplinary research on the study of Chinese religious beliefs and cultural practices

A Student’s Dictionary of Classical and Medieval Chinese Online

Dictionary covering Chinese texts from the period of approx. 500 BCE to 1000 CE. Includes 8,360 individual characters and can be searched in pinyin or characters.

Kanopy Videostreaming
Streaming documentaries and feature films
Films on Demand
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.