Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Penrose Library

Whitman College and Northwest Archives: How Do I Use the Archives?

An introduction to the archives and special collections department of the Penrose Library.

Find Whitman College Archival Materials

 

  • Here is a partial listing of archival and manuscript collections held in the archives.  Remember that many record series in our holdings are not represented here.  Scanning this list helps give you an overview of what is available; it also helps you develop ideas of where to look next.  
  • You may also search Whitman College and Northwest Archives' finding aids by doing a keyword search in Archives West (a catalog of sorts of archival materials for institutions in the region) here.  To identify effective keyword search terms, you need to know the basic trajectory of historical events, key actors, key dates, and key organizations. 
  • BONUS: Whitman College Archives Shelf List  

The shelf list provides descriptions of collections that are not accessible via online search systems.  The link below gives you access to a spreadsheet; by navigating through the tabs you have access to the following key resources:   the Whitman College Archives shelf list (a brief summary of all of collections in our holdings, including size and record series number); the Walla Walla Subject File; and the Whitman College Subject File.  Note these subject files were maintained for many years by library staff; they include newspaper clippings, reports, and photographs.  

Access the shelf list here (Whitman Login required)

  • For some larger archival and manuscript collections, separate inventories (e.g., box and folder lists) exist.  Please ask archives staff members to check if inventories are available for the collections you wish to search. 
  • Questions?  We are happy to help!

A Brief Guide to Searching the Archives

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |