Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Penrose Library

Whitman College and Northwest Archives: Research Resources

An introduction to the archives and special collections department of the Penrose Library.

Research Services

Information about research services provided by the archives may be found on the archives website.

Introductory Publications

For an introduction to the history of Whitman College, see "Whitman College" at HistoryLink.Org: The Online Encyclopedia of Washington State History. Other publications include:

G. Thomas Edwards, The Triumph of Tradition: The Emergence of Whitman College, 1859-1924 (Walla Walla, Wash.: Whitman College, 1992). Penrose Library call number: LD6041.W62 E39 1992 (in the Eells Library of NW History on the 1st Floor).

G. Thomas Edwards, Tradition in a Turbulent Age: Whitman College, 1925-1975 (Walla Walla, Wash.: Whitman College, 2001). Penrose Library call number: LD6041.W62 E492 2001 (in the Eells Library of NW History on the 1st Floor).

Stephen B. L. Penrose, Whitman: An Unfinished Story (Walla Walla: Whitman Publishing Co., 1935). Penrose Library call number: LD6041.W62 P4 (in the Eells Library of NW History on the 1st Floor).

Frances Copeland Stickles, Another Sort of Pioneer: Mary Shipman Penrose (Milwaukie, Ore.: Castle Island Publishing, 2007). Penrose Library call number: F897.W2 S75 2007 (in the Eells Library of NW History on the 1st Floor).

For an introduction to the history of Walla Walla, see "Walla Walla -- Thumbnail History" at HistoryLink.Org: The Online Encyclopedia of Washington State History. Other publications include:

Cameron Addis, "The Whitman Massacre: Religion and Manifest Destiny on the Columbia Plateau, 1809–1858," Journal of the Early Republic 25.2 (2005): 221-258. Available to Whitman and other subscribers through Project Muse.

Robert A. Bennett, Walla Walla: Portrait of a Western Town, 1804-1899 (Walla Walla, Wash.: Pioneer Press, Inc., 1980). Penrose Library call number: F899.W2 B46 (in the Eells Library of NW History on the 1st Floor).

Robert A. Bennett, Walla Walla: A Town Built to Be a City, 1900-1919 (Walla Walla: Pioneer Press, Inc., 1982). Penrose Library call number: F899.W2 B46 (in the Eells Library of NW History on the 1st Floor).

Robert A. Bennett, Walla Walla: A Nice Place to Raise a Family, 1920-1949 (Walla Walla: Pioneer Press, Inc., 1988). Penrose Library call number: F899.W2 B46 (in the Eells Library of NW History on the 1st Floor).

Clifford Merrill Drury, Marcus and Narcissa Whitman and the Opening of Old Oregon (Glendale, Calif.: A. H. Clark Co., 1973). Penrose Library call number: F880 .W5922 (in the Eells Library of NW History on the 1st Floor).

Jennifer Karson, e.d., Wiyáxayxt/Wiyáakaaawn = As Days Go By: Our History, Our Land, and Our People -- the Cayuse, Umatilla, and Walla Walla (Pendleton, Ore: Tamástslikt Cultural Institute, 2006). Penrose Library call number: E78.O6 W59 2006 (in the Eells Library of NW History on the 1st Floor).

Other publications by and about the archives are available from the archives website.

Publications Related to the Collections

G. Thomas Edwards, Student Activism at Pomona, Willamette, and Whitman: 1965-1971 (Walla Walla, Wash.: Whitman College and Northwest Archives, 2008). Penrose Library call number: LD6041.W62 E38 2008 (in the Eells Library of NW History on the 1st Floor) and available from: http://hdl.handle.net/10349/515.

Myron Eells, Indians of Puget Sound: The Notebooks of Myron Eells (Seattle, Wash.: University of Washington Press; Walla Walla, Wash.: Whitman College, 1985). Penrose Library call number: E99.S21 E35 1985 (in the Eells Library of NW History on the 1st Floor).

Albert Furtwangler, Bringing Indians to the Book (Seattle, Wash.: University of Washington Press, 2005). Penrose Library call number: E78.N77 F87 2005.

© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |