Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
logo

ARMINDA user's guide: ARMINDA overview

What is ARMINDA?

The ARMINDA repository of Whitman College digital collections is a service of Penrose Library. It is named in honor of Arminda Fix, the first professional librarian at Whitman College. The "backronym" stands for Accessible Research Materials in Digital Archives.

Collections in the repository include holdings of the Whitman College and Northwest Archives, student honors theses, scholarship and creative works produced by the Whitman community, and other digital collections from college sources.

For further information about using ARMINDA, see the pages listed below:

Terms of Use -- User rights and responsibilities for use/reuse of materials in ARMINDA

Policies -- How Penrose Library manages ARMINDA and its contents

Author FAQ -- Selected policies and procedures that directly affect submitters of materials to ARMINDA

ARMINDA is run on the open-source Islandora platform. Site build and theming by Born Digital. Migration to the newest version of Islandora was supported by IMLS grant funding for the LYRASIS project Fedora Migration Paths and Tools: A Pilot Project.

The new ARMINDA interface

We have made some changes to ARMINDA! Updates to the underlying system meant that we needed to restructure how we organize and display information about items in our collections, but for the most part you shouldn't notice those changes. You will see some differences in how you can browse and search. Notably, the ARMINDA home page now shows featured collections rather than all of our top-level collections; these now appear on the Browse Collections page.

In our previous version of ARMINDA, you could choose to search for keywords in a specific collection. This functionality is not yet available in the new system; searches are global across all collections, but you can filter the results you get by collection by using the facets on the left hand side of the page after you search. See the page on Searching, Sorting, and Filtering on this guide for more specifics.

Browsing in ARMINDA

On the home page, you will see a few featured collections. You can click on one of these to browse within it.

To start browsing from our top-level collections, click on the Browse Collections link in the top menu. You will see six top-level collections: Honors Theses, Whitman College and Northwest Archives, Student Newspapers, Scholarly and Creative Works, Maxey Collection, and Sheehan Gallery. Of these, Whitman College and Northwest Archives, Student Newspapers, and Scholarly and Creative Works have subcollections to explore further.

If you know the name of a specific collection you want to search, you can click on the List of Collections link in the bottom menu. All of the ARMINDA collections will be listed in alphabetical order.

© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |