Whitman College and Northwest Archives

Archival collections can be searched using a finding aid. Finding aids are tools that can help a user find information about a specific record group, collection, or series of archival materials (National Archives). Finding aids will not allow you to access the archival material itself, but rather will provide information about the materials. This might include, titles, creators, dates, historical information, box numbers, etc. 

Finding aids for the Whitman College and Northwest Archives can be searched on Archives West: 

When you find something you are interested in viewing in-person, you should note the collection name, ID, and box number. If an inventory is available, it is also helpful to note the item description and any listed dates. Not every collection will have an inventory, if you have questions about a specific collection, please contact the archives for help.

Your request for materials should appear as: 

Collection Name

Collection ID (WCA# or WCMss#)

Box No. 

Intercultural Center Records

WCA162

Box 2

Rare books and Artist books can be searched in the library's catalog, Sherlock. Once you complete a search, there will be a drop down menu option, select "Whitman College Library", then a second menu will appear, select "Whitman College and Northwest Archives". You will need to note the call number for each book you would like to view. Books in Special Collections start with "SC...". Books in the Artist's Book collection start with "BA...".

The digital collections of the Whitman College and Northwest Archives can be searched on Arminda. You can search keywords in the search bar, or can browse by collection via the link at the top of the page.