Skip to main content
Penrose Library

Resources for Alumni

Introduction

Penrose knows that many Whitman alumni wish to continue to use our resources after graduation, and we welcome you into our doors whenever you are in town. Due to specific license agreements, we are unable to provide off-campus access to most e-resources, such as journal articles and databases, to alumni. This guide is designed to help Whitties navigate post-graduation access to Penrose resources, open access research, and ways you may be able to access many of the same resources through your local public libraries. Please feel free to contact us with any questions about access.

Whitman alumni may:

Library Circulation Privileges

Alumni Borrowers are issued ID cards through the Alumni Office & Campus Security.

Alumni can borrow books for six weeks and DVDs and videos for six days. Alumni cannot check out items that have been placed on Reserve for a course. Summit, eBook and Interlibrary Loan borrowing are not available to Alumni.

Alumni can borrow up to 15 items at a time.

Conducting Research

NEW! Library Databases with Alumni Access

We are excited to announce that in partnership with the Alumni office, we are now able to provide access to a number of library databases. These databases, listed below, provide access to archives of academic journals across many different disciplines. You will need a Whitman Connect account to access these services. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to Ask a Librarian.

Please visit the Whitman Connect page to find links to the respective databases:

  • JSTOR: Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
  • Project MUSE: Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
  • CQ Researcher: Covering today's most important issues and controversial subjects, CQ Researcher has been the choice of students and librarians for over 80 years. Each weekly issue—written by an experienced CQ Press reporter—is an in-depth, single topic report featuring more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.
  • CQ Voting and Election Collection: Find top-quality reference narratives and documents on elections, parties, voter behavior, and campaigns. Extract election results by meaningful characteristics: candidate, office, locality, and race type over time. Access U.S. election results across states with great historical depth and accuracy.

Electronic Access @ Penrose

Alumni, and the general public, can access our other electronic journals, databases and a select number of ebooks while in the Penrose Library building, using our public terminals on the main floor of the library. If you are in the library and have questions, please ask the circulation desk for assistance.

Search Open Access Resources

There is a growing movement amongst the scholarly community to make their work more open and available. Many journals have been started, or have switched, to being open access, and many authors are starting to publish their work in institutional repositories, meaning there is greater access to those who are not attached to an institution. This search box will help provide access to those works. For more information on the open access movement, check out our guide.

Public Library Options

Public Libraries often provide access to some, or parts, of the main databases we subscribe to at Penrose, such as Proquest and JSTOR. Library cards are always free at public libraries. They often also participate in interlibrary loan, though it may take a bit longer than it did at Whitman, or come with slight costs. If you've left Walla Walla but live near a college or university, they may have a similar community borrowers program as Whitman.

© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |