Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Whitman College has public performance rights for all the films contained in these streaming collections. This means they can be shown in class and at student events, and linked to in Canvas. If you are linking to films in Kanopy or Films on Demand it is best to use the permalink to the Sherlock (catalog) record for the film to ensure access:
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material.
Dance in Video, Volume I
Films feature many of the greatest dance companies and performers worldwide, including Agnes de Mille, Mark Morris, Lestor Horton, Anna Sokolow, Anthony Tudor, Jose Limon, Paul Draper, and Chuck Green. Also includes an array of rare and hard-to-find archival material, including footage from the George Balanchine Interpreters Archive and Archive of Lost Choreography, and historical footage from Creative Arts Television, featuring dance performances from 1950s and 1960s CBS television productions.
Digital Theatre Plus
Watch high quality films of leading theatre productions. Discover how plays are brought to the stage in interviews with the creative teams. Learn about interpretive choice through detailed analysis of play texts
Films on Demand
A streaming video collection that consists of thousands of educational programs in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.
Kanopy is an online video streaming service distributing films from BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, and many other production houses. It includes the Criterion Collection. Kanopy changes their films regularly so if you are using it for a class, check for access around when you want students to view or consider having the library purchase a hard copy.
Watch high-quality films of full-length performances by artists working in dance, theater, music and other fields.
From the National Film Board of Canada, free streaming of documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works from indigenous filmmakers.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |