Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Defining Your Topic
Try this approach to identifying and developing your research topic:
- State your preliminary topic as a question.
- Pick out the keywords or main concepts in your question.
- Look these up in subject encyclopedias and dictionaries to set the context for your research.
- Continue to revise your question and choice of keywords as you pursue your search for information.
Sherlock This link opens in a new window
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Citation Index®, accessed via Web of Science™ Core Collection, provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings.
If you already have a citation (like from a bibliography or "works cited" page) then follow this link to see if Whitman has access to the article you want by typing in the journal title (not the article title).
Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad)
Have you signed up for Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad)? ILLiad lets you request materials, especially journal articles, from other libraries. Articles usually arrive within 3-5 business days; other items may take 4-6 weeks.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |