Skip to Main Content
Basic Keyword Searches
Sufism AND music
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
Sufism OR "Islamic Mysticism"
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, feminists, feminism, feminist, etc.
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
Babel NOT Isaac
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search. (If you're looking for articles on the Tower of Babel, you don't want articles on literature by Isaac Babel.)
Think about it like order of operations when you are using multiple operators:
Sufism AND ("gender roles" OR feminine)
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada (1955-)
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Atla Religion This link opens in a new window
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
A current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. It contains research published since 1940
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |