Skip to Main Content
Basic Keyword Searches
language AND translation
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
bilingual OR multilingual
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, translation, translator, translating, etc.
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
Babel NOT Isaac
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search. (If you're looking for articles on the Tower of Babel, you don't want articles on the author Isaac Babel.)
Primary sources (mostly)
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The Loeb Classical Library provides access to the works of classical authors in an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available.
Secondary sources (mostly)
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (1955- )
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |