Skip to Main Content
Image Collections Online
Archives of American Art
The world’s pre-eminent and most widely used research center dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.
British Library's Flickr
Free, public domain images from books in the British library, including maps, geological diagrams, beautiful illustrations, comical satire, illuminated and decorative letters, colourful illustrations, landscapes, wall-paintings and so much more.
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Europeana Digital Repository
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's galleries, museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections.
Gallery of Graphic Design
A page specializing in the Graphic Art of the four decades spanning 1930 through 1969.
The Getty Open Content Program
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
Image Collections from the Public Domain Review
Images from PDR, an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to promoting and celebrating the public domain in all its richness and variety.
Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Collection Online
A vast archive of 400,000 (mostly) hi-resolution digital images that you can download and use for non-commercial purposes.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Prints and Photos from the Library of Congress
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
This site provides access to over 100,000 high resolution images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements from the historical holdings of the Wellcome Library in London. The images have been released under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) licence and can be used free of charge, with an acknowledgement of the original source (Wellcome Library, London).
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Smithsonian Open Access
Provides free and open access to millions of images from the Smithsonian's museums, research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo. Images in this collection are CC-0 licensed; images from other Smithsonian online collections do have usage restrictions.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |