Histories of sex workers in Walla Walla
- Josephine "Dutch" Wolfe, 1836-1909
- Josephine Wolfe is a known madame from an early Walla Walla brothel originally located at 11 W. Alder Ave. No one archival collection contains the papers of Wolfe, though there is some information available in local newspapers, or can be found from modern fictitious history writings.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps (SCL1141, SCL1142)
- Historical maps of Walla Walla city (1905-1953) used to determine fire insurance rates for land owners. These maps include the names or classifications of businesses in town. As new buildings, streets, etc. were built the original users would cut and glue new pieces of paper on top of the existing printed map. The editions kept in the archives will vary due to what new information was added over time. In these maps "FB" or "Female Boarding" was often used to document where brothels were located in town.
- Library of Congress digitized scan, only includes the map as printed, will not include additional changes to town which occurred after publication.
- List of known brothels or hotels 1939-1941: Olympic Rooms, Ashford Hotel, Ideal Rooms, Green Rooms, Loma Rooms (Spokane), Waldorf Hotel, Ritz Hotel, Rex Rooms, Pleasant Home, Rose Rooms, Majestic Rooms, Globe Rooms, Union Rooms
Social Groups in Walla Walla
- Walla Walla cookbook collection, 1922-1982. WCMss 705
- The Walla Walla cookbook collection houses about two dozen cookbooks compiled by Walla Walla residents between 1922 and 1982. Many of these cookbooks include recipes predominately contributed by Women and organized by social organizations - churches, clubs, places of employment, etc.
- Columbia Maternal Association, 1839-1940. WCMss 653
- The Columbia Maternal Association Collection contains the records of, and material associated with, the Columbia Maternal Association, founded in 1838 by Narcissa Whitman, Mary Walker, Myra Eells, and Elizabeth Spalding. During its later years, the association was heavily involved in local suffragist movements.
- Washington State Federation of Women's Clubs, 1901-1967. WCMss 301
- The Washington State Federation of Women's Clubs Collection consists of materials related to the Washington State Federation of Women's Clubs organization which was a group of 22 women's clubs that came together to write a constitution and share reports on projects in literature, arts, sciences, and current events. This organization is linked to the Columbia Maternal Association and local suffragist movements.
- Walla Walla Women's Reading Club records, 1894-2020. WCMss 001
- The Walla Walla Woman’s Reading Club was founded in 1894 as a reading group devoted to “a critical study of such writings as may be deemed best to promote the literary culture of its members."
