Skip to Main Content
Basic Keyword Searches
time AND linear
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
memory OR memories
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, cycle, cycles, cyclical, etc.
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock This link opens in a new window
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Find More Articles
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content
Using Library Guides
How to Find Books on the Shelf at Penrose
This guide covers the basics of Library of Congress call numbers and explains where to find different collections in the building.
Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.
Make a copy of this to fill out electronically during class OR get a paper version from Julie.
Answer 2 questions about this session
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |