Home - Subject Guide - Biology - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Biology Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Agricola This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed agriculture, forestry, and animal research (coverage starts in 1970)
American Chemical Society (ACS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current issues and archives of all publications of the American Chemical Society (1879-).
BioOne This link opens in a new window
High-impact bioscience research journals (coverage starts in 1998).
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other material covering environmental sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine.
CAS SciFinder Scholar-n This link opens in a new window
A username and password are required for use of SciFinder Scholar. Please contact Chemistry Faculty (Tim Machonkin) to set up an account.

bioRxiv
A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution.

Web of Science (Science Citation Index) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leading scholarly literature in the science

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews for many different disciplines in biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.

Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Covers topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, and helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
Plant Sciences
Introduces the fundamentals of plant sciences, such as cells, transportation and photosynthesis, and also examines related fields, such as agribusiness, conservation and ethnobotany.

TAIR (The Arabidopsis Information Resource) This link opens in a new window
Database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana.

Encyclopedia of Life
"The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an international effort, led by the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of Natural History, to raise awareness and understanding of living nature by providing free, open, multilingual, digital access to trusted information on all known species."

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.

Subject Guide - Chemistry
by Julie Carter Last Updated Sep 3, 2024 102 views this year
Subject Guide - Physics
by Julie Carter Last Updated Sep 3, 2024 25 views this year
Subject Guide - Mathematics and Computer Science
by Julie Carter Last Updated Sep 18, 2024 47 views this year