Home - Subject Guide - Economics - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Economics Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

EconLIT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in all fields of economics
ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International academic literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science social science collection.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews for many different disciplines in biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Proquest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Materials on all subjects

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and downloadable edition of the standard source for facts about American history. Allows customized tables and spreadsheets.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window

IDEAS
IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and is available freely on the Internet. It includes working papers as well as published articles and books.
RePEc/IDEAS Economics Research Rankings
Find the top-rated journals, papers and articles, books, and authors. Rankings are based on citation analysis and numbers of view and downloads.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. Full text access to news, business, and legal sources, including federal and state court cases from 1790-present.

Caselaw Access Project
CAP includes all official, book-published United States case law — every volume designated as an official report of decisions by a court within the United States. Our scope includes all state courts, federal courts, and territorial courts for American Samoa, Dakota Territory, Guam, Native American Courts, Navajo Nation, and the Northern Mariana Islands. Our earliest case is from 1658, and our most recent cases are from 2018. Each volume has been converted into structured, case-level data broken out by majority and dissenting opinion, with human-checked metadata for party names, docket number, citation, and date.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. Full text access to news, business, and legal sources, including federal and state court cases from 1790-present.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text, next-day access to New York Times, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal, as well as many other national and regional newspapers.

African Newspapers, 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Papers are in English and other languages.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the Seattle Times (1923-1984), The Oregonian (1923-1987), "African-American Newspapers 1827-1998", and "Hispanic-American Newspapers 1808-1980"
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers from all over the country, predominitely covering 1860-1922 with titles from 1777-1963.
Los Angeles Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1881-1996)
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1851-2016)
South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Washington Digital Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Titles and coverage varies, primarily late 19th century.

Economist: Historical Archive, 1843–2020 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. Search "The Economist" in Sherlock to access the most recent issue.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
The St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank provides economic data from many different US sources, as well as reports and working papers.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Data related to criminal justice in the United States
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Economic data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Caselaw Access Project
CAP includes all official, book-published United States case law — every volume designated as an official report of decisions by a court within the United States. Each volume has been converted into structured, case-level data broken out by majority and dissenting opinion, with human-checked metadata for party names, docket number, citation, and date.
Census Bureau Data
Data on the US population and economy from the US Census. There are interactive tools to help you find data in specific areas.
Data.gov
Datasets from federal agencies. Data relevant for the social sciences may be found under many topics, including Consumer, Education, Finance, Global Development, Business, Cities, Counties, Manufacturing, and Law.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and downloadable edition of the standard source for facts about American history. Allows customized tables and spreadsheets.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. Specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

International Statistics
Links to national statistical agencies of around 200 nations and territories.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
more...less...
You must make an account to download data.