Home - Subject Guide - Music - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Music Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Find Articles

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full text journal articles for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries.
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions & literal translations of aria and art song texts
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music periodicals and literature from 1970 to present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
RILM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publications on music from around the world, 1967 to present.
RIPM - Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and selected full text of music articles published in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
RISM This link opens in a new window
Inventory of music manuscripts, treatises, and libretti.

Find Meida Collections

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.
Music Listening Library This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming classical music library
Naxos Music Library - Jazz This link opens in a new window
Naxos Sheet Music Library This link opens in a new window

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ranges from local papers like the Walla Walla Union-Bulletin to international papers. Can browse by region, century, or topic.
AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
African news and information (1997- )
New York Times All Access This link opens in a new window
Available to current Whitman staff, students, and faculty. Creating an account provides access to complete archive, games, cooking, the Athletic, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. Full text access to news, business, and legal sources, including federal and state court cases from 1790-present.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text, next-day access to New York Times, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal, as well as many other national and regional newspapers.

History Commons (formerly Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials related to 19th century America.
African Newspapers, 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Papers are in English and other languages.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the Seattle Times (1923-1984), The Oregonian (1923-1987), "African-American Newspapers 1827-1998", and "Hispanic-American Newspapers 1808-1980"
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers from all over the country, predominitely covering 1860-1922 with titles from 1777-1963.
Los Angeles Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1881-1996)
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1851-2016)
South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times of India (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Washington Digital Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Titles and coverage varies, primarily late 19th century.

Find Reference Works

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance This link opens in a new window
Covers ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance around the globe.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies of composers and performers and coverage of all types of music, from earliest times to the 21st century.