Primary Sources - History 364 - Sugar, Sex, and Slavery: The History of the Black Atlantic

Contemporary Newspapers

AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
African news and information (1997- )
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ranges from local papers like the Walla Walla Union-Bulletin to international papers. Can browse by region, century, or topic.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. Full text access to news, business, and legal sources, including federal and state court cases from 1790-present.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text, next-day access to New York Times, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal, as well as many other national and regional newspapers.

African Newspapers, 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Papers are in English and other languages.
African-American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage 1827-1998
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the Seattle Times (1923-1984), The Oregonian (1923-1987), "African-American Newspapers 1827-1998", and "Hispanic-American Newspapers 1808-1980"
Los Angeles Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1881-1996)
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1851-2016)
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
More than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers from all over the country, predominitely covering 1860-1922 with titles from 1777-1963.

Aluka (Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from archives and libraries around the world related to the dismantling of the Apartheid regime and Liberation of Southern Africa.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Primary sources including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.

Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
News sources from early 18th century to the early 21st documenting the experience and impact of African Americans.
Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of publications promoting, as well as those opposing, white nationalism.
America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources (monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera) covering 1639-1900.
American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera from 1760-1900
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.