Finding Secondary Sources - Anthropology 246 / Theatre & Dance 281 - Movement as Culture: Dances from the Middle East, North Africa, and the Diaspora

Reference Sources

al-Bab Dance

International Encyclopedia of Dance by Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc.
Call Number: GV1585 .I586 1998
Publication Date: 1998-03-26
The encyclopedia of world folk dance by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by John L. Esposito
Call Number: DS35.53 .O96 2009
Publication Date: 2009

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance This link opens in a new window

More General Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies of composers and performers and coverage of all types of music, from earliest times to the 21st century.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window

Journals

Find Articles

These are a few databases in particular that may help you in this class. They range from the very specific to dance and performing arts, to encompassing all disciplines. Selecting the right database depends on the scope of what you're looking, and its always ok to try more than one, if not encouraged! It's important to situate your searches in the environment you're in, a search that works in an art database might be too broad in a more general database. Refer to the Basic Keyword Searches box on the right for more info.

International Index to Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular journal articles from journals related to dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, and television.
Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles published by the American Anthropological Association
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

MENALIB
An information portal for Middle East, North African, and Islamic Studies. It provides access to electronic fulltext materials or electronic bibliographical records of printed materials and manuscripts.

Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Art, Design, and Architecture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive survey of publications in the fields of visual and applied arts (coverage from 1976 - current).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Full list
You might need to think more interdisciplinary for this class. This list can be sorted by areas of study so you can look at anthropological studies or art history and visual culture critiques for example.

Sherlock

This will search Sherlock for books at Whitman and within Summit, meaning it can be requested from another school in Washington and Oregon and will arrive in 2-3 business days.

Interlibrary Loan

Use Worldcat or Sherlock to find books that are not in Summit or at Penrose. Fill out an ILL request and if we are able to find a library that will lend it we will have it in around a week. It can take up to six weeks, especially internationally, so don't leave it for the last minute.

Basic Keyword Searches

For both Sherlock and databases, there are ways you can construct your searches to get more specific results:

Tunisia AND "folk dance" -- Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document.
Debka OR Dabke -- Use OR if only one word must appear in a document, helpful for different spellings or romanizations
danc* -- Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings. For example, dancer(s), dancing, dance
"folk dance" -- Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.

Search Terms

General Terms
Belly dance
Belly dance music
Belly dancers
Dance
Folk dance music
Folk dancing
Religious dance

+ geographical subdivision, e.g.,
Egypt
Turkey
Northern Africa
Arab countries
Islamic countries
Middle East

Dance Styles:
Raqs Baladi
Raqs Sharqi / Oryantal Tansi / Oriental Dance
Raqs Al Assaya / Tahteeb
Gawazee /Tanoura / Zar / Nubian / Iskandariyya (all from Egypt)
Guedra / Shikkat (Morocco)
Zeybek / Karsilama / Romani (Romani / Kasap Havasi) (Turkish)
Debka / Dabke (Lebanese / Palestinian)
Tamazhig / Amazhig
Ouled Nail (Algerian)
Serchopi / Dilan Chopi (Kursh)
Chekkani / Sheikhani (Assyrian)
Chobbi / Hecha (Iraqi)
Khaleegi (Saudi Arabia)

Common Terms
Raqs or Raks (dance)
Rakkass / Rakkassa (dancer MF)
Rakset (dances)

In Art:
Odalisque / Odalisca
Historical Characters / Fantasy
"Little Egypt"
"Salome"
"Salomania"

Dance in the USA
American Cabaret Belly Dance
American Tribal Style Belly Dance
Tribal Fusion Belly Dance
Goth Belly Dance

People:
Malayeen
Kuchuck Hanem
Mahmoud Reda
Reda Troupe
Dina Talaat Sayed
Lucy
Tito Seif
Farida Fahmi
Tahiya Carioca (also spelled Tehiya / Taheeya / Karioka)
Fifi Abdo (Abdou)
Fayrouz
Rahbanni Brothers
Caracalla Dance Company
Alexander Paulikevitch
Samia Gamal
Keti Sharif
Iraqi National Folklore Troupe

In Diaspora:
Yasmina Ramzy
Morocco (Carolina Varga Dinicu)

Researchers:
Metin And
Carolee Kent
Virginia Danielson
Anne Rassmussen
Anthony Shay
Barbara Sellers Young
Sherifa Zuhur
AJ Racy
Nadine Naber
Evelyn Alsuntany
Amira Jamarkani
Candace Bordelon
Morocco (Carolina Varga Dinicu)
Aisha Ali

Other
Baptism
Christenings
Weddnings
Ritual Possession
Dance Studies
Dance Competition
Orientalism
Cultural Appropriation
Diaspora
Mosque Festivals

Anthropology 246 / Theatre & Dance 281 - Movement as Culture: Dances from the Middle East, North Africa, and the Diaspora: Finding Secondary Sources