Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access World News
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
African news and information (1997- )
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Formerly LexisNexis.
US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes full-text, next-day access to New York Times, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.
Primary sources can also be found in the library catalog. Try adding terms such as diaries, correspondence, narratives and interviews to your search.
African Newspapers, 1800-1922
More than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
America's Historical Newspapers
This collection includes the Seattle Times (1923-1984), The Oregonian (1923-1987), "African-American Newspapers 1827-1998", and "Hispanic-American Newspapers 1808-1980"
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2014
Full-image online archive of every page published by the Times of London from 1785-2014.
Aluka (Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa)
The struggles for freedom in Southern Africa were both a regional and global phenomenon. As such, documentation of the struggles is scattered around the world, reflecting the history itself: colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
American Broadsides and Ephemera
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past
, Art History and Visual Culture Studies
, Asian and Middle Eastern Studies
, Environmental Studies
, Film and Media Studies
, General Studies
, Hispanic Studies
, Race and Ethnic Studies
, Rhetoric, Writing and Public Discourse
, Theatre and Dance
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |