LibGuides: Senior Thesis 2024-25: Find Materials

Find Scholarly Articles

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature reviews for many different disciplines in biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.

Subject Guides by Department

Sherlock This link opens in a new window
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.

Create your ILLiad account
Have you signed up for Inter-Library Loan (ILLiad) so that you can request materials, especially journal articles, from other libraries? Articles usually arrive within 5 business days; other items may take 4-6 weeks.

Find Books

Summit This link opens in a new window
As of January 2015, Summit searches and requests are available via Sherlock. Use the drop down menu to limit a search to Summit.

Interlibrary Loan
Use interlibrary loan if a book you need is not available via Penose or Summit. Check the WorldCat Catalog as well as the Library of Congress Catalog for the most exhaustive searches.
Whitman Catalog
All the local holdings at Whitman, including books, print reference sources, electronic resources, DVDs, and some archival collections.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Catalog of books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.

Find Digital Collections

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. Log in to access the largest number of volumes and features.

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Image database of artwork, architecture, and other artifacts contributed from museums and collections around the world.
Dance in Video, Volume I This link opens in a new window
Productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational, and modern concert dance.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming classical music library
Naxos Music Library - Jazz This link opens in a new window
Naxos Sheet Music Library This link opens in a new window
ontheboards.tv This link opens in a new window
Films of full-length performances by artists working in dance, theater, music and other fields.

Aluka (Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from archives and libraries around the world related to the dismantling of the Apartheid regime and Liberation of Southern Africa.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Primary sources including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Smithsonian Collections Online: World’s Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents about landmark exhibits from 1840 to 1940.

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources (monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera) covering 1639-1900.
American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera from 1760-1900
ARTFL This link opens in a new window
Collection of classical French writings including literary and political works, focusing on 18th-20th century, with some coverage of 17th century, medieval, and Renaissance texts.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
News sources from early 18th century to the early 21st documenting the experience and impact of African Americans.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections from libraries, archives, and museums around the country. Find primary sources in the forms of images, documents, film, sound recording, and other mediums.
Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of publications promoting, as well as those opposing, white nationalism.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital reproductions of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
18th century English-language publications in the humanities, arts, and sciences.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources covering the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the 17th through the 20th centuries. Purchase of this resource was made possible thanks to a gift in memory of John Makey, '56.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
State Papers Online This link opens in a new window
17th century British State Papers linked to their full text-searchable calendars.

Wellcome Images
This site provides access to over 100,000 high resolution images including manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements from the historical holdings of the Wellcome Library in London. The images have been released under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) licence and can be used free of charge, with an acknowledgement of the original source (Wellcome Library, London).

Women Working This link opens in a new window
Historical, manuscript, and image resources that explore women's roles in the US economy from the Open Collections Program, Harvard University 1870-1930
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized texts by pre-Victorian women writers

Archives West This link opens in a new window
Central repository for finding aids for archival collections at colleges and cultural institutions throughout the western U.S.
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project This link opens in a new window
The vital history of Seattle's civil rights movements to life with scores of video oral histories, hundreds of rare photographs, documents, movement histories, and personal biographies.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ranges from local papers like the Walla Walla Union-Bulletin to international papers. Can browse by region, century, or topic.
AllAfrica This link opens in a new window
African news and information (1997- )
New York Times All Access This link opens in a new window
Available to current Whitman staff, students, and faculty. Creating an account provides access to complete archive, games, cooking, the Athletic, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. Full text access to news, business, and legal sources, including federal and state court cases from 1790-present.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text, next-day access to New York Times, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal, as well as many other national and regional newspapers.

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials related to 19th century America.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
More than 170 African American Periodicals published between 1825 and 1995
African Newspapers, 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Papers are in English and other languages.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the Seattle Times (1923-1984), The Oregonian (1923-1987), "African-American Newspapers 1827-1998", and "Hispanic-American Newspapers 1808-1980"
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
Periodicals from prisons across the country, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Digitized newspapers from all over the country, predominitely covering 1860-1922 with titles from 1777-1963.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Los Angeles Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1881-1996)
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full coverage (1851-2016)
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Burney Collection Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
17th and 18th century English news media including pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.
South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
Sunday Times (London) Digital Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times of India (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Walla Walla Union-Bulletin (Newspaper Archive) This link opens in a new window
Available from 1945-2020. Also includes other Washington and Oregon historic newspapers. (Note: there are major gaps in 1948, 1963, 1971-1972, 2012, 2014-2015, microfilm is available in the Archives)
Washington Digital Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Titles and coverage varies, primarily late 19th century.
Whitman College Pioneer This link opens in a new window
Digitized copies of the Whitman student paper.

Find Historical Magazines

Full Text Historical Magazines
Digital Books and Magazines

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published from the 1680s to the 1930s (fully keyword searchable).
Economist: Historical Archive, 1843–2020 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020. Search "The Economist" in Sherlock to access the most recent issue.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of 19th century British magazines.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-image journal articles of backfiles for periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
Popular Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Titles include Time, Life, Sports Illustrated, US News & World Report, and The Nation.
Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
American magazine articles published between 1890 and 1982 (citations only).
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014 This link opens in a new window
Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
Digitized catalogues, pamphlets, trade cards, and other marketing materials originally directed toward the American consumer.
Women's Magazine Archive Collection This link opens in a new window
Full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines.

Internet Archive
In addition to digital text collections, there are also collections of music and video and the Wayback Machine to find archived versions of web pages.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. Log in to access the largest number of volumes and features.

Find Statistics

Exploring the census
Contains a multitude of statistical data from the US census and community surveys including population, housing, geographic and economic data.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable and downloadable edition of the standard source for facts about American history. Allows customized tables and spreadsheets.

The Data Center
Formerly the Greater New Orleans Community Data Center provides a tool box of fact–driven, data that moves beyond anecdotal experiences and goes deeper than national reports which, too often, miss community nuances that are unique to our region and key to understanding the root causes of our challenges. A core part of the Data Center’s mission is to transform local culture from being data–adverse to embracing data as an intrinsic component of sound policy development. This transformation gained steam significantly after Hurricane Katrina when the Data Center created “The New Orleans Index” to measure key indicators towards recovery.

Data and Government Information

Data Resources
Penrose's guide to finding, using and citing data.
Government Documents
Penrose's guide to navigating Government documents and information.