Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Keyword Searches
language AND translation
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
"English as a second language" OR "English as a foreign language"
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, exclusive, exclusion, exclusivity, etc.
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
Babel NOT Isaac
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search. (If you're looking for articles on the Tower of Babel, you don't want articles on literature by Isaac Babel.)
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock This link opens in a new window
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Find More Articles
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This database includes journals in communication, mass media, and related fields of study.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
If you are looking for literary or linguistic analysis, the MLA database can be a good place to start. It indexes articles, books, and book chapters.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Databases in this collection cover social science fields including politics, sociology, anthropology, and education.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Articles in this database provide an overview of research on important topics in a broad range of disciplines, including linguistics, anthropology, sociology, psychology, and political science.
Using Library Guides
Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |