Home - Subject Guide - Classics - LibGuides at Whitman College

Welcome

Welcome to the Classics Research Guide. This guide is designed to support your research process. In this guide, you'll find:

subject-specific materials and resources, such as books, articles, and databases
citation style guides for your subject

Use the tabs to navigate through the boxes and pages of the guide. If you have any questions, schedule an appointment with a librarian.

Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia of the ancient world. It is intended as an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference sources for all subjects, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles.
Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Covers the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe, includes coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Reference work that includes encyclopedia entries and peer-reviewed articles in philosophy and related disciplines.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance This link opens in a new window
Covers ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance around the globe.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable virtual library of Greek and Latin literature.

Perseus Digital Library
Primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome.

Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic and popular titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly books and journals in all disciplines.
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (publications starting in 1955).

Ancient Theatre Archive
A virtual tour of ancient Greek and Roman theatres created by Prof. Thomas G. Hines of Whitman College

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Image database of artwork, architecture, and other artifacts contributed from museums and collections around the world.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content is provided by the BBC, the Canadian Broadcast Corp, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, and others.

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Digital library of books and journals scanned by a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. Log in to access the largest number of volumes and features.

Internet Archive
Includes digitizations of millions of digitized texts. (Less well-organized than HathiTrust.)

Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Primary sources like maps, photographs, letters, diaries, newspapers, audio of personal accounts of events, sound recordings & historic films.
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
Digitized collections from libraries, archives, and museums around the country. Find primary sources in the forms of images, documents, film, sound recording, and other mediums.