ARTH150 Architectural History of Walla Walla, Fall 2024 (Reynolds)

In your research it may be necessary to consult architecture and local history books to contextualize your building or topic. This will search Sherlock for books at Whitman and within Summit, meaning it can be requested from another school in Washington and Oregon and will arrive in 2-3 business days.

There are many local history journals we have print runs for, which can be a great way to find scholarly articles that document local history and provide helpful citations to archival and local collections in the area.

• Columbia
• Idaho yesterdays
• Northwest discovery
• Oregon historical quarterly
• The Pacific Northwest quarterly
• The Washington historical quarterly

Key print books on Walla Walla

The Eells Northwest Collection is Penrose Library's circulating collection of Northwest books, particularly focused on the Inland Northwest and Walla Walla. The collection can be searched in our online catalog, Sherlock.

Reference books

• Whitman reference books like the Waiilatpu (yearbook), course catalogs, and directories. They can be found in the Archives or near the Eells collection.

• Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation History and Culture
• Family Search's Walla Walla Genealogy Wiki
• Historylink: Washington history encyclopedia
• Pacific Coast Architecture Database wiki from UW's Built Environment's Library that collects information on Northwest architecture.
• Pioneer Churches in Walla Walla County
• Walla Walla 2020 Community research project on the architectural history of Walla Walla
• Society of Architectural Historians Archipedia