Skip to main content
Basic Keyword Searches
language AND translation
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document. This *narrows* your search.
"English as a second language" OR "English as a foreign language"
Use OR if only one word must appear in a document. This *broadens* your search.
Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings, for example, exclusive, exclusion, exclusivity, etc.
Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.
Babel NOT Isaac
Use NOT to exclude words or terms from a search. (If you're looking for articles on the Tower of Babel, you don't want articles on literature by Isaac Babel.)
Finding Books Spring 2020
While the library is closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Summit and physical Interlibrary Loan lending are not available. Some options for digital access to books or book chapters have been integrated into Sherlock (connections to the HathiTrust digital library, and options to request book chapter PDFs). Another option is to look in the Internet Archive National Emergency Library.
Internet Archive National Emergency Library
You will need to create an individual account for the Internet Archive National Emergency Library (it does not integrate with the Whitman sign-on). Be sure to use a different password! This is a free service.
Find Books and Articles
Sherlock combines the Whitman Library Catalog, Summit and many of our electronic journal subscriptions into one searchable interface.
Find More Articles
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography
Literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, drama and film (1963-)
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
Web of Science Core Collection
Searches the journal literature in all branches of the sciences
Provides a comprehensive synthesis of the research literature for a broad spectrum of disciplines.
Using Library Guides
Whitman Library Guides
Library Guides -- and Subject Guides in particular -- can help you choose databases that are relevant to a specific disciplinary approach. There is a Subject Guide that corresponds with each Whitman major.
Questions about library research
Before or after the class session in the library, you can add any questions that you have about doing research in the library (or academic research more generally) to this Google document.
© 2014 Whitman College Penrose Library |