LibGuides: Politics 317: Political Power in Theory and Practice: Academic Sources

Sherlock

Find Articles

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada (1955-)
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal literature covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada (1955- )
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Proquest Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy

Basic Keyword Searches

For both Sherlock and databases, there are ways you can construct your searches to get more specific results:

Hanford AND Richland -- Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document.
Manhattan Project OR Hanford Project -- Use OR if only one word must appear in a document.
denuclear* -- Use an asterisk to truncate a word and allow for different endings. For example, denuclearize, denuclearization, etc.
"Hanford Site" -- Use quotation marks to enclose a phrase or words that must appear together in a document.